

## Growing stronger together

LINDSEY A. MANSBRIDGE, CLERK 21 Reeve Street, PO Box 1614 Woodstock, ON N4S 7Y3 519.539.9800, ext. 3017 | 1.800.755.0394 oxfordcounty.ca

October 2, 2024

VIA EMAIL

## **RE: Southwest Community Transit Services**

At its meeting held September 25, 2024 Oxford County Council adopted the following resolution:

Moved By: Bernia Martin Seconded By: Deb Gilvesy

Resolved that correspondence from the South Central Ontario Region Economic Development Corporation (SCOR) dated September 17, 2024, be received, and;

Whereas the County of Brant, Middlesex County, Municipality of Strathroy Caradoc, Norfolk County, Town of Tillsonburg, Municipality of East Zorra-Tavistock, Grey County, Perth County, City of Stratford, Municipality of Lambton Shores, and Wellington County have successful utilized government funding to create and sustain local community transit through Southwest Community Transit; and

Whereas 85,000 riders have utilized the Southwest Community Transit services in the first half of 2024 alone, demonstrating significant community reliance on these services; and

Whereas the economic impact of this transit system is estimated to be \$748,800,000 annually, largely due to its role in providing transportation to employment opportunities; and

Whereas the current funding for this critical small urban and rural inter-community transit service is set to expire in March 2025, putting the sustainability of the service at risk;

Therefore, be it resolved that County of Oxford Council urges the provincial government to continue funding Southwest Community Transit beyond March 2025 to ensure the ongoing viability of this essential service for small urban and rural Ontario.

Be it further resolved that this resolution be circulated to the County of Brant, Elgin County, Middlesex County, Norfolk County, Oxford County, Municipality of Strathroy Caradoc, Town of Tillsonburg, Municipality of East Zorra-Tavistock, Perth County, City of Stratford, Municipality of Lambton Shores, Wellington County, Bruce County, Municipality of Bayham, Municipality of Thames Centre and other relevant stakeholders for their support and advocacy.

Thank<sub>i</sub>you,

Lindsey A. Mansbridge

Clerk

CC: Oxford County Area Municipal Clerks

