

To: David Creery, Chief Administrative Officer

From: Cynthia Hislop, Clerks Services Coordinator

Re: 2025 Student Civic Awards of Excellence

## AIM

To provide Council with the 2025 nominees for the Student Awards of Excellence.

## **BACKGROUND**

In early spring each year, the City of Woodstock high schools are each asked to select a student to receive the Student Civic Award of Excellence. The deadline for submissions was May 1, 2025. Upon Council's confirmation of the awards, the Mayor's Office will arrange to present the recipients with a \$1,000 award and a plaque at a Council meeting. The presentation will include a summary of each recipient's accomplishments.

## COMMENTS

To qualify, the recipient must:

- a. be a resident of the City of Woodstock in their graduating year;
- b. have a good academic record which shows a commitment to achieve the best of their ability;
- c. have volunteered in the community; and
- d. have excellent leadership skills; and
- e. may have overcome adversity, and serves as a role model to others; and
- f. be nominated by a committee composed of peers and teachers at the school where they attend, with supporting reasons delivered in writing to the Clerk by May 1<sup>st</sup> of each year.

The following students were selected by their school:

- Maria Eduarda De Nez Nalevaiko St. Mary's High School
- Sage Hehar Huron Park Secondary School
- Chloe Knoll Woodstock Collegiate Institute
- Eliane Mbombo-Pembe École Secondaire Catholique Notre-Dame
- Maryam Siddiqui College Avenue Secondary School

## RECOMMENDATION

That Woodstock City Council confirms the selection of the following students as the winners of the 2025 Student Civic Awards of Excellence:

- Maria Eduarda De Nez Nalevaiko St. Mary's High School
- Sage Hehar Huron Park Secondary School
- Chloe Knoll Woodstock Collegiate Institute
- Eliane Mbombo-Pembe École Secondaire Catholique Notre-Dame
- Maryam Siddiqui College Avenue Secondary School



Authored by: Cynthia Hislop, B. Arts, Clerks Services Coordinator

Approved by: Heather Buchanan, B. Political Science, Manager of Corporate Services

Approved by: Amy Humphries, B. Math, M.P.A., Deputy CAO/City Clerk

Approved by: David Creery, P. Eng, MBA, Chief Administrative Officer